Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

2021 James Weldon Johnson Distinguished Lecture

Dr. Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham

Dr. Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham is the Victor S. Thomas Professor of History and of African and African American Studies and the chair of the Department of History at Harvard University.

She is the National President of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History. She is the recipient of numerous awards and honors for her historical writings.

Most notably, she received the 2014 National Humanities Medal from President Barack Obama at the White House in 2015 for “illuminating the African American journey.”

In March 2019, she received the John Hope Franklin Award sponsored by Diverse magazine and the TIAA Institute.